Maddie–All Growed Up.

18 Aug

maddie_firstgrade

Meet Maddie.  Maddie is now a first grader. 

Six and a half years ago, Maddie came into this world and I became a God-Mother.  I have watched her grow from a newborn into a six year old adult…watching her work a room is astonishing!  She’ll talk to anyone and make friends immediately.  It seems the only person she is readily shy around is Jarrod, and usually it takes less than 5 minutes for her to get past that–then they’re best buds. 

She’s six and a half years of smiles, giggles, and mac and cheese and she’s beautiful because of it.  I think that is mostly impart because of her beautiful mother and her beautiful family that loves her and cares for her with zero limitations.  Maddie is a fortunate girl, and we are most definitely fortunate to have Maddie!

I’m not wondering if Maddie is ready for the first grade, I just hope the first grade is ready for Maddie!

You done good, Katie–be proud.

4 Responses to “Maddie–All Growed Up.”

  1. Katie August 18, 2009 at 2:28 PM #

    I started crying a little when I read it to her. She gave me a big kiss and laughed and said, “I can’t believe you’re crying!”, so I laughed and said, “at least I didn’t cry at school in front of your friends!” Her response: “You would’ve EMBARRASSED me!”

  2. anniefrey August 18, 2009 at 2:32 PM #

    Katie–that sounds so much like something that could have happened 20 years ago with you and your mom. The nut doesn’t fall far from the tree 😉

  3. Jane Crouch August 18, 2009 at 2:38 PM #

    That’s so moving, Annie! Thank you for that.

  4. Colby August 18, 2009 at 2:45 PM #

    Annie’s right Katie! Be PROUD! She’s such an AMAZING and WONDERFUL little ADULT! lol
    Love you both 🙂
    I can’t believe you are BOTH Mommys!!!

You read it, now share with me what YOU think :)

