Baby Bed!

11 Dec

In light of the big thank you posted prior to this blog, last night we (Jarrod, Eric, and Melissa) tackled one of the major gifts that we received at the baby shower.  Grandma and Grandpa Rathert (still sounds so weird…) bought Tot a beautiful natural wood crib, and last night it was assembled.  Eric and Melissa came over to lend a hand, and while Eric and Jarrod tackled the crib, Melissa and I sorted through the pile of stuff that we’ve accumulated in the past few months. 

As I said in the previous post, my cousin and my sister are machines when it comes to organizational prowess.  Me, well, not so much.  I’m not an unorganized person…but I don’t always see the long-term benefits of pristine organization before I see the short-term benefits of out-of-sight-out-of-mind.  Melissa and I dived head first into the totes, bags, and boxes of things and began a short series of piles.  Eric and Jarrod began reading directions and assembling the new baby bed.  Soon enough, and with very little incident, the crib was assembled, and the small organizational piles that Melissa and I constructed somehow managed to turn into one massive pile of baby belongings.  Oh well.

Thank you Mom and Dad for the crib!  It’s beautful and it makes the baby’s arrival that much more exciting.  Thank you Melissa and Eric for your help!  Let us know if/when we can return the favor!

Next venture:  Setting up the stroller/car seats and possibly the Grandma and Grandpa Frey Pack n Play.  Not sure if we want to set that all up yet since we don’t know where we’ll be when we first need it.  I’m hoping Jarrod becomes a Pack n Play Sensei very soon.  I don’t know that I’ll have the patience to learn the “Pack” part!  As with pregnancy…I’m amazed at how such a large contraption can come out of such a small space.  Fortunately, with the baby, there’s no returning it to it’s bag.

One Response to “Baby Bed!”

  1. Ashly December 11, 2009 at 8:05 PM #

    Looks great!! It is all coming together quite nicely!!

You read it, now share with me what YOU think :)

