Priorities

21 Feb

So I’m a new mom. One of the fastest lessons I’ve learned is how to prioritize daily activities in order to make sure the necessities are handled.

This became evidently clear to me while I was in the shower the other day while Jarrod was at class.

Showers used to be my get-away, a place where I could reflect on my thoughts or not think at all. This is how my shower went the other day.

1. Put baby down to sleep.
2. Gather necessary items for shower. (Towels, robe, clean clothes, etc.)
3. Turn on water.
4. Baby crying…re-insert binky.
5. Jump into shower and immediately shampoo hair.
6. Baby telepathically realizes mommy is naked and covered in shampoo…consequently spits out binky…crying.
7. Mommy, cold with soap in her eyes, hustles into bedroom, reinserts binky, baby happy, mommy shivering.
8. Back into shower, rinse shampoo, apply conditioner, rinse conditioner.
9. Baby crying. reinsert binky. Baby happy, mommy shivering.
10. Mommy hurries back to shower, soaps up and washes face. Picks up razor to shave the legs.
11. Baby crying. Reinsert binky, baby happy, mommy shivering.
12. Mommy realizes putting a razor to her skin in haste…not so great of an idea…
13. Mommy dry and warm with hairy legs.

I never thought that I would view clean, smooth legs as a luxury. Now I’m a mom and I guess a luxury it is.

Oh yea, as soon as I finished the shower and got dressed, I went back to check on him.

Sound asleep.

Nice one, Charlie. Very funny.

3 Responses to “Priorities”

  1. uncle arthur February 27, 2010 at 7:16 AM #

    I think at charlie has my good timing .
    way to go
    your greatuncle Arthur

  2. jewelry March 3, 2010 at 8:45 PM #

    I Like this site your article is very nice , Thanks, very interesting article, keep up it coming 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. First Mother’s Day « Common Composure - May 10, 2010

    […] morning, Mother’s Day.  I know that being a mother means sacrifice, see here and here and here.  But here are the parts I love most about […]

You read it, now share with me what YOU think :)

