Reader Poll

15 Apr

Is this sexist in our politically correct world? Does J have to go park somewhere else if he comes to the store with a diaper bag, car seat, and baby in tow?

Just sayin’.

Thoughts? Please share.

4 Responses to “Reader Poll”

  1. Mel April 15, 2010 at 6:25 PM #

    I think these parking spots are due to the horrors of post labor and the last couple months of pregnancy. Not for a man who did not endure this. Hey, I am purely feminist at heart…but Luke has strong arms and can carry a baby seat in to the store from 6 spots back. Me post c-section body…not so much. This is my impression on what the spots were designed for though…

    • Lisa April 15, 2010 at 7:25 PM #

      I never used them. When I was “expecting”, I wanted to walk. If I was feeling that bad the last place I wanted to be was waddling around a grocery store. And when I was “new” I always parked by the carts and set them in one right away. I say if a guy wants to use it, so be it. But most wont anyway. I wouldn’t think poorly of a man parking there. Ive seen plenty of people that were neither, park in those spots.

    • Krista P April 15, 2010 at 8:14 PM #

      I agree – I think once a woman is past the painful part of healing postpatrum she gives up the much coveted stork parking. Personally I was alway too embarassed to use those spots – like I wasn’t being tough enough.

      • MD April 18, 2010 at 10:22 AM #

        We actually had a conversation about these signs at work last week. I think its for women who are about to pop or have just had the baby. I personally have no desire to use this spot (I say that now because I can still walk around easily!) I just feel like there is probably someone who would need this spot a lot more than I do. I usually avoid parking by the carts but I like the idea of parking next to them and setting everything in it instead of dragging it across the lot. Good idea!

You read it, now share with me what YOU think :)

