First Mother’s Day

10 May

This is how I was greeted Sunday morning, Mother’s Day.  I know that being a mother means sacrifice, see here and here and here.  But here are the parts I love most about motherhood:

-baby sneezes
-viewing the world from the simplest perspectives (the texture of a  leaf or the vibrant color of a flower petal)
-a purposeful smile when he looks my way
-watching J be a father
-every day is a day I get to play dress up
-when he laughs at himself for laughing
-the way he is enthralled by his hands

and generally the way he fills my heart with pride and causes it to overflow with love.  I would do anything for this little person.  It’s an instinct that burns in the core of my being and I’ve only been a mother for 4 1/2 months.

He truly is my heart walking outside of my body.

One Response to “First Mother’s Day”

  1. kimmy0808 May 11, 2010 at 4:44 AM #

    Your baby is so cute. It’s also my first time to celebrate mother’s day and i really had fun and i really felt so special.

You read it, now share with me what YOU think :)

