Charlie’s Lullaby

16 Jul

To the tune of “I Love the Flowers”

I love the Cardinals
I love Matt Holiday
Love Albert Pujols
I love a Double Play
I love Chris Carpenter
And Jared Michael Schumaker***

Boom-dee-atta
Boom-dee-atta
Boom-dee-atta
Boom-dee-atta

Boom-dee-atta
Boom-dee-atta
Boom-dee-atta
Boom-dee-atta

“I Love the Flowers” is the song that has been sung for decades at the Lutheran Summer Camp, Camp Piasa, that now 4 generations of my family have attended.  It’s a tradition that means a great deal to a great amount of people, and I share it with Charlie before he goes to sleep.

My grandma used to sing that to me whenever she would put us to sleep.  Consequently, my first words were, “Boom, Boom.”

Granted, the above adaptation of this lullaby was created out of the countless evenings I spent repeating the tune over and over and over again.  Charlie still hears the original from time to time, but in order to keep Mommy awake during bedtime…I have to spice it up a bit.

Here is a commercial that Discovery Channel did using the same song.

***It is worth noting that Skip Schumaker’s real name is Jared Michael Schumaker, which is pretty cool since my husband’s name is Jarrod Michael and my mom’s maiden name is Schumacher.

You read it, now share with me what YOU think :)

