Unconfuse me…

16 Aug

I’ve been mulling over this same thought in my head for quite some time now…months…maybe longer.

“Is it possible to believe solely in one thing morally, but yet hold beliefs politically that contradict those moral beliefs?”

I’m not discussing any particular topic and I’m really not interested in debating any said topic.  But I cannot come up with an answer to my question.  And it’s bugging me.  REALLY bugging me.

Can you believe one thing to be morally and ethically wrong/right and yet politically choose to support the opposite of that moral belief?

Ugh.

Thoughts?

Comment or send emails.

anneelizabethfrey@gmail.com

9 Responses to “Unconfuse me…”

  1. willrun4food August 16, 2010 at 3:13 PM #

    Hmm. I think it’s possible to not oppose the political opposite of one’s moral beliefs, but to truly, honestly support it? I dunno. I’ve come close on a certain hot button issue, but I’ve found that what I thought was a firm moral stance was at best, murky, and probably more an opinion formed by childhood environment than any actual belief. Which, it seems, it the real question here: what constitutes belief and/or support?

    • Andrew August 16, 2010 at 9:52 PM #

      …Cuz you know I’ll have a response for this. 😉

      I totally get what you’re saying and here’s how I break it down for myself. I think morals are a very personal think (i.e. what I think is right for me in my life) whereas politics is how I think the greater community/country/world should be structured.

      A few examples (and I’m not debating either side on these, just explaining how I break them down)…

      A MOSQUE AT GROUND ZERO

      Personally (morally), one may think this is inappropriate. yes, one probably knows that Muslim does not equal terrorist. However, one may not think it is an appropriate use of the hallowed area of Ground Zero.

      Politically, one may believe in freedom of religion and freedom of expression. Such person may have lived with these same freedoms and does not feel right denying them to others.

      GAY MARRIAGE

      Personally (morally), one may not support gay marriage. One may not choose/accept this lifestyle for themselves.

      Politically, one may believe in equal rights. Again, such person may have lived with these rights and does feel right denying them to others in a country founded on freedom.

      Again, just one way of looking at it. Not the “right” way, not the “wrong” way. Just a way. My way.

      • Andrew August 16, 2010 at 9:52 PM #

        …and clearly, personally, I don’t believe in proof-reading. 😉

      • anniefrey August 16, 2010 at 11:00 PM #

        Those are both really good examples that are currently facing many Americans today. If what one “believes” is the right thing doesn’t harmonize with ones political belief in maximum freedom, things get complicated. This mosque thing has me all sorts of pissed off. It’s like I want them to KNOW better than to build it, but do I have the right to allow/disallow their religious practice. My heart screams one thing while my brain screams the other.

        Thanks for your comments! They are always welcome.

        Sent on the Sprint® Now Network from my BlackBerry®

  2. Janet Atteberry August 16, 2010 at 5:44 PM #

    Annie, what a great question to ask a politician!!!!!

  3. annie August 16, 2010 at 11:07 PM #

    Jon,

    You and I surely grew up in at least similar environments. What constitutes support is a valid question. If I am a strong supporter of civil liberties and those that are inherent from our Creator, can I just be apathetic regarding certain issues politically…even though in my heart of hearts I know exactly how I feel about those issues, and in certain cases, those issues incite anger? I just can’t seem to find that middle ground between those strong and polarizing political and moral contradictions that I’m facing.

    I’m wondering if anyone else has these same internal struggles I guess.

    • willrun4food August 17, 2010 at 11:18 AM #

      Gosh, I hope I didn’t give the immpression I don’t have such struggles. For one thing, I can drive myself insane just thinking about the recent broohaha with Jennifer Aniston. In my political mind, I know it’s been established that a woman is capable of being a single parent, and – like it or not – in virto fertilization is a standard practice now. My moral heart says even if you ignore the unnatural birth method, how selfish is it to knowingly put rear a child with a less than ideal (two parent) environment, simply because you “really want a baby?”

  4. Kristin August 19, 2010 at 8:42 PM #

    Voltaire said, “I do not agree with a word you say, but I will fight to the death for your right to say it”.

    • anniefrey August 19, 2010 at 11:14 PM #

      Very wise and applicable words.

You read it, now share with me what YOU think :)

