My Birthday J

25 Jan

My husband had a birthday yesterday.  It’s amazing how having a child can thwart you back to the youthful joy that came with such events.  Holidays, families assembled, gifts, the whole nine yards.  There is so much palpable magic and mystique that for one day you actually feel different.  Somewhere among all of the blocks and legos, Gameboys and car keys, lottery tickets and choice beverages, that mystical feeling slowly fades away.  And when you wake up that morning on your birthday and it feels like every other day, the get up and go to work world doesn’t stop spinning, a part of you feels lost.

It’s a sad realization to that end, but it’s not the only realization that comes with age. Monday night the whole family gathered together at the local pizza place and celebrated the birthdays of J and his twin.  There was laughter.  There was food.  There were jokes and there were beers. That same joy comes when they people who you love gather together.  It’s quickly revived in the laughs, the stories, and the smiles.  And it’s going to live on in the years ahead as Charlie moves rapidly into little boyhood and away from the realm of baby.

But when it comes to celebrating my husband’s special day, the truth is he’s my rock.  From my breakfast shake in the morning to a warm fire at night, he takes care of me without hesitation, without obligation, and without reservation.  He looks after Charlie like only a father can, and Charlie looks to him as his anchor, his constant. His go-to for instantaneous solace and comfort.

Blessed I am for the last 7 years.  Grateful I am for his unfailing, unwavering patience. Humbled I am for his persevering kindness. Thankful I am that each morning I wake up I know that my family is in his hands.

Happy birthday, J. I love you and I am so happy to call you my favorite.

This song is for you us!

 

You and me.  Can’t stop us.

2 Responses to “My Birthday J”

  1. Joe Rathert January 26, 2011 at 2:07 AM #

    Your anchor? Your constant? OK, Daniel Faraday.

    • Annie Frey January 26, 2011 at 9:40 AM #

      You know it!

You read it, now share with me what YOU think :)

